•   

Building long-term business relationship with financial institutions

Background

Promoting compliant operation in the industry in accordance with the Hong Kong law is one of the objectives of the establishment of our Association. At the same time, we also aim to enhance the communication with respective financial institutions and governmental departments especially on ways to build a long term business relationship with banks.

As a member of the Financial Action Task Force ("FATF"), Hong Kong has the responsibility to implement international standards on anti-money laundering. During a briefing to the Legislative Council Panel on Financial Affairs on 15 November 2013, Mr Norman Chan, Chief Executive of The Hong Kong Monetary Authority ("HKMA"), mentioned that "Banks must observe stringent customer due diligence requirements, and detect and report any suspicious transactions". As such, licensed money changers must first prepare themselves in relevant compliant aspects in order to build a long term and positive relationship with banks.

Objectives of our Association

Through this webpage, our Association hopes to deliver the following messages to respective financial institutions on behalf of the money service industry:
  • To build long term and positive relationships with banks, licensed money service operators ("MSOs") must operate their businesses in compliance with the law (e.g. lay down and obtain understanding in compliance policies and procedures, including customer due diligence, on-going monitoring etc. and to put these relevant policies and procedures into practice). In addition, they should keep proper customer and transaction records and provide banks accurate information and adequate assistance during sample-testing of records
  • Licensed money changers are strictly required to abide by the Hong Kong Law Cap 34 Money Changers Ordinance
  • Licensed money changers are strictly required to abide by the Hong Kong Law Cap 615 Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance and Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing (For Money Service Operators)
  • Licensed money changers are required to comply with relevant licensing and licence renewal requirements as well as other regulations and guidelines licensees should abide by
  • According to the law, Money Service Supervision Bureau of the Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department ("HKC&ED") is required to continuously monitor licensed MSOs (including site inspection, interviewing licensees by appointment, telephone inquiries, requiring periodic return for statement of transactions from licensees, approving application of licensees' new partner/director/ultimate beneficiary owner etc.) to ensure that their businesses are compliant and legal

Licensing System and Supervision

The Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance, Cap. 615 ("AMLO") came into operation on 1 April 2012. Under the AMLO, a person who wishes to operate a remittance and / or money changing service (i.e. money service as defined under the AMLO) is required to apply for a licence from the Commissioner of Customs & Excise ("CCE"). The HKC&ED will assess whether a licence applicant is fit and proper to be licensed to operate a money service. It will also monitor licensees' implementation of customer due diligence and record-keeping requirements and compliance with other licensing conditions on a continuous basis, as well as combat any unlicensed money service operation. Operating a money service without obtaining a MSO licence from the CCE is an offence and liable to a fine of HK$100,000 and imprisonment for six months. To ensure that licensed MSOs comply with the requirements stipulated in the AMLO, MSO licensing matters and supervision system include:

Summary of Application Procedures:
  1. Supporting Documents of the Applicant's Particulars Application Form
  2. Supporting Documents of Particulars of each premises
    • A copy of stamped tenancy agreement or record of ownership of the premises
    • Floor plan of the premises
  3. Interview at the HKC&ED Headquarters
  4. In determining whether a person is a fit and proper person, the CCE must, in addition to any other matter that he considers relevant, have regard to whether the applicants convicted of an offence in Hong Kong or elsewhere (The provisions in section 2 of the Rehabilitation of Offenders Ordinance, Chapter 297 do not by reason of Section 4 of that Ordinance apply to proceedings related to a person's suitability to be granted or to continue to hold a licence. No conviction will be regarded as 'spent' and details of all convictions must therefore be included
  5. Authorized officers of the HKC&ED will conduct on-site inspection at the premises provided in the application form
  6. If the MSO licence is granted, relevant records will be kept in the Register of Licensees maintained by the CCE. The Register is kept at the office of the Money Service Supervision Bureau and is uploaded to the HKC&ED website. The register is available for inspection by members of the public without charge during normal office hours and issued licences will be updated in a timely manner

On-going Monitoring
  1. Conduct ad hoc compliance inspections and investigations (including performing on-site examinations)
  2. Interview licensees by appointment
    • Written request to MSO requiring them to attend meeting with authorized HKC&ED officials on a specified date. MSO will be required to bring along their explanation on policies as well as customer records, transaction records and bank statements etc for a specified period of time for review and questioning. According to the AMLO, if the above requirements are not followed, the licensee may be prosecuted under the AMLO and liable on summary conviction to a fine of HK$50,000 and to imprisonment for 6 months
  3. Conduct telephone inquiries
  4. Require periodic return for statement of transactions from licensees
  5. Approve application of licensees' new partner/director/ultimate beneficiary owner

As mentioned earlier, while MSOs are subject to the licensing system and on-going monitoring of the HKC&ED, banks in Hong Kong are regulated by the HKMA. As a result, banks must comply with approval procedures required by law during their operations which in turn will help further strengthen the position of Hong Kong as an international financial centre. Being part of the financial services industry, all MSOs should cooperate with banks and proactively enhance their compliance level during businesses. Following are some of the areas which some of the MSOs have done to further enhance their compliance level in order to increase their competitiveness in the industry.

Key Points in Business Reporting
( I ) : State the following items clearly to banks:
  • Business nature
  • Major trading currencies and estimation of transaction amount
  • Major sources of funds and remittance location
  • Corporate structure and management responsibilities
  • Appointment of Compliance Officer and Money-laundering Reporting Officer
  • Anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing policies and procedures implemented by the company etc.
( II ) : Besides (I), if there are any changes, MSOs should proactively provide explanation or report to banks within a reasonable timeframe. MSOs are also suggested to proactively appoint a third-party professional person (e.g. Compliance Officer, accountant, lawyer etc) to conduct annual compliance review in order to understand how the control and procedures for combatting risks in money laundering/terrorist financing are being implemented and to reflect the emphasis MSOs put on the legal and monitoring requirements set out for financial institutions.

Key Points in Record-keeping
( I ) : Besides requesting documents during the customer due diligence process, original and/or copy of such documents, along with the transaction data or information, should be kept as part of the transaction record. Such record must be kept for 6 years beginning on the date on which the business relationship of a customer with the MSO ends for review purposes
( II ) : Besides (I), documents and information can also be kept in computer systems. Some computer systems are even equipped with anti-money laundering monitoring and warning capabilities. Information can be provided promptly upon request by banks for review purposes

Operating a compliant business not only enables MSOs to act in accordance with the Government's law but also enhances MSOs status in the industry and even in society. At the same time, banks should keep an open mind towards licensed MSOs in order to balance the relationship between banks and MSOs. This will help to build a long-term and stable business relationship between the two parties as well as laying a solid foundation for Hong Kong as an international financial centre. Our Association would like to reiterate that MSOs must prepare themselves in relevant compliant aspects in order to build a long-term and positive business relationship with banks.

Our Association is more than happy to meet with any banks to discuss about the sustainability of the business relationship between banks and MSOs and to understand compliance requirements of respective banks.

Supervisory Authority

The Hong Kong Monetary Authority ("HKMA") established a new division within the Banking Supervision Department to further strengthen and consolidate the resources available for AML/CFT supervision, allowing an increased number of on-site examinations and desktop reviews and a more proactive approach in mitigating emerging money-laundering and terrorist-financing risks. At the same time, HKMA will continue to actively participate in various international AML forums (such as Financial Action Task Force) to ensure Hong Kong's risk-based approach to AML supervision is consistent with international practice and allow more effective use of resources to address areas of higher risks. As part of the financial services industry, all licensed money changers must assist the Hong Kong government, HKMA and banks in combating money laundering and terrorist financing activities in order to strengthen the international financial centre position of Hong Kong.

  • All Money Service Operators should note that the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (“HKMA”) has provided the Contact Information of 20 Retail Banks in Hong Kong on its website, which includes the required information and documents needed for opening a bank account
  • HKMA has also provide an Enquiry Hotline for Account Opening and Maintenance:
    • Enquiry Hotline: (852) 2878 1133
    • E-mail: accountopening@hkma.gov.hk
  • Should a Money Service Operator consider that the bank has not handled the account opening application properly, he/she can make a complaint to HKMA. Details of Complaint Processing Centre (For bank complaints) are as follow:
    • Enquiry Hotline: (852) 2878 1378
    • Fax: (852) 2509 3990
    • E-mail: bankcomplaints@hkma.gov.hk

Events

Given that banking service is one of the crucial elements for licensed money changers to do business, our Association is committed to strive high quality business environment for MSO industry. Our work performed:

Relevant legislations for reference:
Chapter 34: Money Changers Ordinance, Laws of Hong Kong
Chapter 615: Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance, Laws of Hong Kong

Relevant guidelines for reference:
HKC&ED - Guideline on Anti-Money Laundering and Counter- Financing of Terrorism (For Money Service Operators)
HKC&ED - Money Service Operators Licensing Guide
HKC&ED - Money Service Operators Disciplinary Fining Guideline
HKC&ED - Money Service Operators Guidelines on Criteria for Determining Fitness and Propriety

•   

與各金融機構建立長遠業務關係

背景

本會成立其中的一個目標,就是要推動業界合規經營符合香港法例,以及增強與各金融機構及政府部門之聯繫,尤其如何與銀行建立長遠的業務關係。

香港作為財務行動特別組織 (FATF) 的成員,有義務落實反洗錢的國際標準,香港金融管理局 ("金管局") 總裁陳德霖先生於2013年11月15日的立法會財經事務委員會簡報會上提到 "銀行須遵守嚴格的客戶盡職審查要求,偵察及舉報可疑交易",可見持牌找換商如要建立長遠良好的銀行關係,必須先做好合規的有關事宜。

本會目標

本會希望透過此專頁,代表金錢服務業界向各金融機構傳遞以下訊息:
  • 各持牌找換商要建立長遠良好的銀行關係,必須辦到符合法例的合規經營 (如:制定及了解合規政策及程序,包括客戶盡職審查、持續監察等,並且貫徹執行相關政策及程序),並妥善備存有關客戶及交易紀錄,以及向銀行提供準確資料及充分協助銀行抽查紀錄
  • 持牌找換商必須嚴格遵守香港法例第34 章《貨幣兌換商條例》
  • 持牌找換商必須嚴格遵守香港法例第615 章《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集 (金融機構) 條例》打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引 (金錢服務經營者適用) 指引
  • 有關持牌找換商必須符合有關發牌及續牌要求,及所有持牌人應守的規定及指引
  • 香港海關金錢服務監理科按法例要求持續監察持牌找換商 (包括:巡查、書面形式約見、電話查詢、收取交易報告定期申報表、審批新增持牌人合顆人/董事/最終擁有人申請等),確保持牌找換商於一個合法合規下營商

牌照制度及監管

根據香港法例第 615 章《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集(金融機構)條例》(下稱《打擊洗錢條例》) 已於2012年4月1日實施。按照《打擊洗錢條例》,任何欲經營匯款及/或貨幣兌換服務 (即打擊洗錢條例所界定的金錢服務) 的人士必須向海關關長 (關長) 申領牌照。香港海關會審查金錢服務經營者牌照申請人是否適合領取牌照,並持續監督持牌金錢服務經營者在客戶盡職審查及備存紀錄等的執行和其他發牌規定的合規情況,以及打擊無牌經營金錢服務,在沒有關長發出的牌照情況下經營金錢服務,即屬犯罪,一經定罪,可罰款 100,000 元及監禁 6 個月。為確保持牌金錢服務經營者符合《打擊洗錢條例》的規定,有關金錢服務經營者發牌及監察制度包括

申請程序概要
  1. 申請人詳情的證明文件及指定申請表格
  2. 每一處所詳情的證明文件及資料
    • 該處所的已加蓋釐印租約或業權紀錄的複本
    • 該處所的平面圖的複本及面積
  3. 到海關總部進行面試
  4. 香港海關關長 (關長) 在斷定某人是否一個「適當人選」時,除須考慮任何有關的事宜外,亦須顧及該人是否曾在 香港或香港以外被裁定犯罪 (根據香港法例第 297 章《罪犯自新條例》第 2 條的規定,不會以該條例第 4 條為理由而適用於與任何人是否適宜獲批給或繼續持有牌照的問題有關的法律程序。任何判罪均不會視為「已失時效」,故所有判罪的詳細資料必須包括在內)
  5. 海關的獲授權人員會在申請表格上提供的處所進行實地視察
  6. 金錢服務經營者如獲批牌照後,有關紀錄將加入關長備存的持牌人登紀冊內,而登紀冊會存放在金錢服務監理科的辦事處及上載到海關的網址,供公眾人士查閱,已批給持牌人的牌照亦會適時作出更新

持續監察
  1. 不定期進行合規審視和調查 (包括實地視察)
  2. 書面形式約見
    • 發信要求持牌找換商於指定日期携同政策說明及指定時間內的客戶紀錄、交易紀錄及銀行結單等文件供海關授權人士取覽及回答提問。根據打擊洗錢條例,如未能遵辦上述規定,則可能會根據打撃洗錢條例而被檢控,一經簡易程序定罪,可被判罰款 HK$50,000 及入獄 6 個月。
  3. 電話查詢
  4. 收取交易報告定期申報表
  5. 審核新增持牌人合顆人/董事/最終擁有人申請

如前所述,除了持牌找換商受香港海關發牌機制及持續監察外,香港銀行亦受金管局所規管,故銀行有關的業務必須履行法例列明的審批程序,與此同時亦鞏固香港作為國際金融中心的地位。各持牌找換商作為金融機構的一份子亦為此予以配合,積極提升業界水平而履行以下程序,而部分持牌找換商為提高自身於行業內的競爭力,更不斷提升現有的合規水平,尤其包括:

業務申報概要
( I ) : 向銀行清楚表明
  • 業務性質
  • 主要交易貨幣及交易金額的估算
  • 主要資金來源及匯款目的地
  • 公司架構及各管理人員職責
  • 合規主任及洗錢報告主任的委任
  • 公司訂立之打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集政策和程序等資料
( II ) : 除( I )外,如有任何變更,均在合理時間內向銀行主動提出說明或報告,並建議主動委任第三方專業人仕(如:合規主任、會計師、律師等)提供年度合規審計,以反映持牌找換商如何落實洗錢/恐怖分子資金籌集風險的有關管控及程序,及對金融機構的法定及監管規定的重視

備存紀錄概要
( I ) : 除客戶盡職審查所得的文件外,交易紀錄亦需妥善保存文件的正本及/或複本,以及保存交易的數據及資料的紀錄,及紀錄必須備存 6 年,由有關交易完成的日期起計,以便翻查紀錄
( II ) : 除( I )程序外,並會使用電腦系統作為儲存文件及資料之用,當中更可附設有反洗錢監控及預警的功能,若銀行要求提供有關文件作覆核之用,亦可迅速提供資料以便檢查

各持牌找換商除配合政府法例做好合規經營外,同時亦可提升行業甚至於社會上的地位,而銀行對持牌找換商亦應持開放態度,緊隨這個步履,將令銀行與持牌找換商得到一個平衡點,使雙方建立一個長遠而穩固的業務關係,亦為香港作為國際金融中心打下更穏固的基石。本會重申要與銀行建立長遠良好的業務關係,必須做好合規事宜。

本會樂意與任何銀行會面,探討有關銀行與持牌找換商的業務持續性關係及其合規要求。

監管機構

香港金融管理局 ("金管局") 已於2014年3月在銀行監理部轄下設立新的打擊清洗黑錢及金融罪行分處,旨在進一步加強及統一在打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集活動方面的監管資源,以增加現場及非現場審查的次數,並就減低新出現的洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集風險採取更主動的措施。與此同時,金管局亦會繼續積極參與有關打擊洗錢的國際組織 (如財務行動特別組織),以確保香港有關打擊洗錢的風險為本監管模式與國際做法一致,並能更有效運用資源應對較高風險的範疇。各持牌找換商作為金融機構的一份子,定必協助香港政府、金管局及銀行合力打擊洗黑錢及恐怖分子資金籌集活動,共同鞏固香港作為國際金融中心的地位。

日誌

鑑於銀行服務對於持牌找換商經營金錢服務為重要一環,本會致力為金錢服務業爭取合理營商環境,過去工作如下:

有關法例可參考:
香港法例第34章《貨幣兌換商條例》
香港法例第615章《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集(金融機構)條例》

有關指引可參考:
香港海關 - 打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集指引 (金錢服務經營者適用)
香港海關 - 金錢服務經營者牌照指引
香港海關 - 金錢服務經營者紀律處分罰款指引
香港海關 - 金錢服務經營者有關適當人選準則的指引